top of page

The Final Frame
Horror Short Film Competition

In conjunction with our annual horror convention, StokerCon, the Horror Writers Association is proud to announce the 8th Annual FINAL FRAME Horror Short Film Competition.

We are currently looking for horror films that are 13 (THIRTEEN) MINUTES and under only. 

Between ten to fifteen selected films will showcase as part of the StokerCon 2023 Horror Writers Convention. 

The coveted StokerCon 2023 Final Frame Award and cash prize will be awarded to one film and filmmaker, the best film shown at our event as decided upon by a panel of industry judges.

We also present a variety of prizes to first runner-up, second runner-up, best writing in a short film, and the audience award. 

Previous competition judges include: 

Ernest Dickerson (director, Juice, Tales From The Crypt: Demon Knight, The Walking Dead), Alejandro Brugués (writer/director, JUAN OF THE DEAD. Director, ABC’S OF DEATH 2 and NIGHTMARE CINEMA), Mike Flanagan (writer/director, Haunting of Hill House, Gerald's Game, Hush), Novelist and screenwriter Sarah Pinborough (Behind Her Eyes, Cross Her Heart), Oscar-winning producer, Jennifer Handorf (Prevenge), Mick Garris (Hocus Pocus, The Stand, Masters of Horror, Nightmare Cinema) and so many more.

For more info on submitting your film, please head on over to FilmFreeway:

bottom of page